Rothschild Social Justice Institute

The Temple heeds the prophetic call for tikkun olam through the Rothschild Social Justice Institute. Named in honor of The Temple’s esteemed Civil Rights leader Rabbi Jacob M. Rothschild, the Rothschild Institute seeks to affect positive change on the local level and beyond concerning ten broad societal issues of our time: Anti-Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking, Environment and Climate Change, Sensible Gun Safety, Poverty and Homelessness, LGBTQ Inclusivity and Equality, Jewish-Muslim Relations, Racial Justice, Women’s Rights, Public Education, and Refugee Resettlement.


We act on these issues collaboratively as Temple Connect small groups headed by the leaders below. For more information or to join a small group, please email the leader of the group in which you are interested.


Senior Rabbi Rabbi Peter Berg  pberg@the-temple.org 
Director  Rabbi David Spinrad dspinrad@the-temple.org
Clergy  Rabbi Lydia Medwin  lmedwin@the-temple.org 
Lay Chairperson  Kent Alexander  kent.alexander@me.org 
Lay Coordinator Susan Gordon  srgordon60@gmail.com 
Anti-Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking  Caroline Clear Rudolph  cdclear@gmail.com 
Environment & Climate Change  Ruth Menter  ruth.menter@gmail.com 
Sensible Gun Safety  Lissie Stahlman  elstahlman@gmail.com 
Poverty & Homelessness  Scott Edlein  s.edlein@gmail.com 
LGBTQ Inclusivity & Equality  Daniel Brennan  danatl75@hotmail.com 
Jewish-Muslim Relations  Doug Pike  piked@bellsouth.net 
Racial Justice  Elizabeth Webster
Gilly Segal 
elizabethnwebster@gmail.com
gillysegal@gmail.com 
Women's Rights  Samantha Schoenbaum  samanthalbs@gmail.com 
Public Education  Karen Luscher  karen.luscher@gmail.com 
Refugee Resettlement Zane Blechner
Gal Adam Spinrad 
zsb11080@gmail.com
microenterprise@riwn.org 

 

 

1589 Peachtree Street NE | Atlanta, GA 30309 | t 404-873-1731 | A Reform Synagogue | Affiliated with The Union for Reform Judaism